My reading and blog plan for 2017.

Sounds good?

Problem is that I’m good at planning, but useless at sticking to it!  Something always gets in the way…and it is normally me or life in general!!!

So we will just see how I  do in the next 12 months!

As some of you know, I suffer with dyslexia.  So my reading speed is slow, hence why I love audio books and even ‘text to speech’ on the kindle.  It make life much more easier for me, and I can normally complete a book in a day.

Where as a late friend of mine could speed read through 3 thick historical romances in an evening.  Where as I, on the other hand take a couple of days to read one physical book half the size! 😦

As my house contains over 5,000 plus physical books.  The kindle has probably got another 1,000 plus on it.  And my audio collection amounts to over 500 plus.  And they just seem to keep growing!

Also, you might have noticed that I’m a re-reader, as I find re-reading brings out more of the story the second, third or fourth time, that you get the full flavour of the story the author is trying to tell.  Not only that, I find as a series progresses, it is nice to go and revisit, and rekindle the pleasure and enjoyment that sparked your interest in the first place.  And this time reviewing them, which I must admit I didn’t realise how important that was to the author and their sales, until I joined NetGalley and Save Our Cozies.

My main love and passion is mysteries, what is now termed today as ‘cozies’.

I started like everybody else (except I live in the UK and some of these books were hard to get hold of, especially the older ones), with Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, The Three Investigators, Trixie Belden, etc…the list would be endless!

Then going on to more adult murder mysteries, such as Patricia Wentworth (who is my personal favourite), Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, John Dickson Carr/Carter Dickson (another favourite), etc…

I also read whatever takes my fancy at the time.

I enjoy M/M romance/mysteries/paranormal books.  Normal romance books, largely historical.  Children’s books, biographies, light humour, and some murder/mystery books that are a little bit more grittier than a cozy.  I don’t do blood, guts and gore, but some authors like C. S. Harris (Candice Proctor) and Elly Griffiths are such good story tellers, that they have me hooked.

So back to this years plan.

As a NetGalley reader/reviewer I have commitments to complete for them.  And due to that thing called life, and it going all haywire on me, I have got myself a bit behind.

So part of the plan is to get my NetGalley reading  shelf down a bit *queue laughter*, which isn’t easy as publishers keep putting books on that I just have to have!  (child in a sweet shop syndrome…”I want them all, and I want it now!”) or was that the spoiled little girl in Willy Wonker and the Chocolate Factory film with Gene Wilder?

As a bibliophile, I have been collecting for near on 40 years, and still not read more than 20% of the collection.

So my aim this year is to complete the Cozy Once a Month club read each month, and the 2017 Literary Challenge (visiting 50 states plus DC, and worldwide locations).

Plus take 3 books each month from my huge TBR pile.

One of which will be from my Vintage/Classic/Golden Age era mysteries collection, which I hope might spark some interest in fellow bloggers and readers to try them out if possible.

One from my re-reads, some of these series are still going strong, some that petered out or were dropped for one reason or another.  But all, I hope will spark some interest from fellow readers to check into and give them a try, where availability is still possible.

And one from my ever growing TBR pile, either physical, electronic or audio.

I’m also planning to do a author/series spotlight blog , with reading list, and availability, with author bio and possibly author interviews (as and when possible).

So authors beware, I will be stalking you! 😀

So join me in this years adventure…and happy reading! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My reading and blog plan for 2017

  1. And how quick your pocket becomes empty! 😀
    Btw Julie, books 1 to 3 have now appeared on Audible UK.
    And books 2 & 3 hit my basket and where download so fast, that I don’t think Audible knew what hit them! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

