2015 has been a busy year for me reading wise, my Goodreads Challenge was to read 210 books…which I only just managed by the skin of my teeth!

The first half of the year was made up of audio books, physical books and a few kindle books…until Karen MacInerney introduced me to Netgalley for an ARC of Killer Jam, the first in her Dewberry Farm Mysteries.

Now I have that many books from Netaglley (and they just keep coming out, and yes, I really do have to try them all out! ūüėÄ ), and a large stack of physical books for the Final Chapter Reading Group. ¬†I don’t know which way to turn!¬† Thanks Karen! ūüėÄ

killerjam

So here are my top 10 books of 2015 and why.

  1. The Tournament – Matthew Reilly.¬† (ARC via Netgalley).¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† After reading Matthew’s Kindle novella – Roger Ascham and the King’s Lost Girl (which was free on Amazon).¬† I was really pleased the he had written a full length book featuring Roger and young Princess Elizabeth (Bess, later to be Elizabeth I).¬† And¬†I wasn’t disappointed.¬† Set in the Middle East, this page turner keeps you on tender hooks all the way through!¬† Can’t wait for Matthew to deliver another one to this series.

mr tournament

2.   Solomon Creed РSimon Toyne.  (ARC via Netgalley)

This one looked intriguing.¬† But I wasn’t quite sure about whether I would like it or not. The cover is just a black and white silhouette of a man, nothing more.

But this book was explosive from start to finish.  I just could not stop turning the pages!

And it looks like there is more to come of Solomon Creed.

Adobe Photoshop PDF

3.   A Case of Possession РKJ Charles РKindle purchase.

After reading The Magpie Lord, book 1 of A Charm of Magpies Series (which btw is excellent!), I couldn’t wait to get hold of book 2!¬† It carries on the adventures of Lucien and Stephen and the magic in Victorian England.¬† I have also read books 2.5, 3 & the prequels…and had to stop, as I wouldn’t have anything to look forward too!

These books are m/m paranormal/mysteries.kjc possession

4.  The Impersonator РMary Miley РPhysical book.

The book cover and synopsis, intrigued me…and also it was going cheap at the time on Amazon. ūüėÄ

Set in the USA in the early 20’s.¬† A young vaudeville actress is asked to impersonate a missing heiress, to keep the fortune from falling into the hands of greedy relatives.¬† Beautifully written, with twists and turns throughout right till the end.¬† I think all the members of the Final Chapter have read this book and enjoyed it!¬† So much so, that I have just brought the next book in this series…Silent Murder, just waiting for it to arrive.mm impersonator

5.  Brighton Belle РSara Sheridan РPhysical book.

The first in the Mirabelle Bevan Mysteries.  I chose this for the Final Chapter Reading Groups monthly read, as the library had enough copies.

Set in Brighton in the early 1950’s.

In an attempt to put her past behind her, retired Secret Service agent Mirabelle Bevan takes a job at a debt collection agency run by the charismatic Big Ben McGuigan. But the mysterious case of Romana Laszlo brings Mirabelle back to her roots.

This series is well written and an enjoyable read.  And all members of the group, gave the thumbs up to the start of this series!ss brighton belle

6.¬† Smoke and Mirrors – Elly Griffiths –¬†(DI Stephens & Max Mephisto series – book 2) – ARC via¬†Netgalley.¬†

Brighton, 1951.¬† Pantomime season is in full swing on the snowy pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin. But Max’s headlines have been stolen by the disappearance ¬≠¬≠of two local children. With fairy tales in the air, it’s not long before the press have found a nickname for the case: ‘Hansel and Gretel’.

Long anticipated and wasn’t disappointed.¬† Long may this series continue, as I really do enjoy these…I read this within 24 hours of getting it from Netgalley!¬† As I did when I won book 1, The Zig Zag Girl…from Goodreads.¬† I have now brought a copy¬†for my collection, and¬†its now being ¬†passed around the other members of the Final Chapter Reading Group!¬† ¬†eg smoke

7.  A Fashionable Indulgence РKJ Charles РBook 1 of The Society of Gentlemen. РARC, plus I won the audio download from KJ on her FB page.

Another m/m series from KJ Charles.¬† This one set in Regency London.¬† No magic in this series…but plenty of intrigue!¬† I have this and the second book – A Seditious Affair, in audio…narrated by Matthew Lloyd Davies and well worth getting and¬†listening to.¬† Available from Audible.¬† This lady can turn her writing hand to any era and make it come alive!kjc fashionable

8.  What Angels Fear РC S Harris Р1st in the Sebastian St. Cyr series. РPhysical book.

Liked the cover and synopsis, but when it arrived I ended up with this cover! lol

Loved it!¬† This was the Regency version of ‘The Fugitive’ (well, I thought so!).¬† If you haven’t read any of the Sebastian St. Cyr books, do so…they are really, really Good!¬† This book has been passed around the Final Chapter group, and enjoyed by all.¬† Thumbs up!csharris what angels fear¬†Nothing wrong with the cover…just that I liked the look of this one! lolcsharris what angels fear1

9.¬† Lowcountry Bordello – Susan M. Boyer – Book 4 Liz Talbot Mysteries.¬†–¬† ARC¬†from Susan M. Boyer via Netgalley.

Started laughing within the first few pages of this book.¬† Susan M. Boyer’s Liz Talbot mysteries are great, fun reads…and not to be missed.¬† Thank you Susan for selecting me as one of your advanced readers.smb lowcountry bordello

And finally…I have to include the lady who started me off in June¬†on Netgalley.

10.  Killer Jam РKaren MacInerney Р1st in the Dewberry Farm mysteries.

This was a really Good start to a New Series.¬† Loved the characters that Karen has created for this series.¬† It’s well plotted and written…and well worth giving a go if you like ‘Cozy’ mysteries, as I do.

Karen also writes the ‘Grey Whale Inn Mysteries’…check them out!killerjam

 

 

Leave a Reply

